Oaklawn News

HOT SPRINGS, AR (Thursday, March 15, 2018) – Motown legends The Isley Brothers kick-off a sensational 2018 Finish Line Theater Concert Series Friday, June 1 that also includes country music star Sara Evans and Rock & Roll Hall of Famer John Oates. Also scheduled to perform this summer at Oaklawn are The Commodores and co-headliners Night Ranger and Dennis DeYoung: Music of STYX.

The Isley Brothers have had four Top 10 singles on the United States Billboard chart. Sixteen of their albums charted in the Top 40 and thirteen of those albums have been certified gold, platinum or multi-platinum. Among the most popular hits by these members of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are  “Shout,” “Twist and Shout,” “This Old Heart of Mine” and  “It’s Your Thing.”

The Commodores signed with Motown label in 1972, began their rise to stardom while touring with the Jackson 5 and went on to sell 60 million records for the legendary label.. The band’s biggest hit singles are ballads such as “Easy,” “Three Times a Lady“ and “Nightshift“ and funky dance hits including “Brick House,” “Fancy Dancer,” “Lady (You Bring Me Up)” and “Too Hot ta Trot.” In 1986, the Commodores, which consists of Walter “Clyde” Orange, James Dean “J.D.” Nicholas and William “WAK” King, along with their five-piece band, known as the “Mean Machine,” won their first Grammy for the song “Nightshift.”  

Dennis DeYoung is best known for being a founding member of the rock band STYX and served as the groups lead vocalist and keyboardist from 1970 until June 1999. He has been credited as the writer of more Styx songs than any other member. He was also the band's most successful writer, penning seven of the band’s eight Billboard Top 10 singles as well as a solo top 10 single.

Night Ranger has earned widespread acclaim, multi-platinum and gold album status while leaving their indelible mark on the music charts with a string of best-selling albums (Dawn Patrol, Midnight Madness, 7 Wishes, Big Life and Man In Motion). Their most recognizable hit singles include “Sister Christian,” “Don’t Tel Me You Love Me,” “When You Close Your Eyes” and “(You Can Still) Rock In America.” Their latest album is “Don’t Let Up.”

Multi-platinum entertainer Sara Evans is among country music’s leading ladies. Her five #1 country singers include “Not Place That Far,” “Suds in the Bucket,” “A Real Fine Place to Start,” “Born to Fly” and “A Little Bit Stronger.” Her distinctive country sound has earned her Academy of Country Music Top Female Vocalist honors as well as numerous American Music Awards. She will be performing with Thompson Square, best known for “Are You Going to Kiss Me or Not” and “If I Didn’t Have You,” and Jerrod Niemann, whose hits include platinum certified multi week #1 “Drink To That All Night,” “Lover, Lover” and his current single “I Got This.”

John Oates is one half of the best-selling duo of all time Hall & Oates, as well as an accomplished solo artist, whose latest album is titled Arkansas was released in February. A member of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and the Songwriters Hall of Fame, Oates embarked on a long-awaited solo career in 1999. Digging back deep into his early influences, on this current tour, Oates takes concert goers on an uplifting musical journey from the birth of popular music in the American Delta all the way through re-imagined versions of his iconic 80s hits.

Ticket prices and sale dates will be announced at a later date.

“Over the last few years, fans have come to expect some of the biggest names in music during the Finish Line Theater Concert Series and this year’s lineup certainly won’t disappoint,” Director of Marketing Kim Baron said. “Whether you’re a fan of Motown, country music or rock and roll, there’s going to something for everyone.”

2018 Finish Line Theater Schedule

Friday, June 1:                 The Isley Brothers

Friday, July 20:               The Commodores

Saturday, Aug. 11:          Night Ranger and Dennis DeYoung: The Music of STYX

Friday, Aug. 31:               Sara Evans with Thompson Square and Jerrod Niemann

Friday, Sept. 21:              John Oates