Danny Caldwell

Residence: Poteau, Okla.

Four-time leading owner at Oaklawn 

  • Perennial Oaklawn leader Danny Caldwell has 98 career victories in Hot Springs, including 22 in 2017. Recorded his first career Oaklawn stakes victory when Domain’s Rap won the opening-day $125,000 Fifth Season for older horses.
  • Caldwell, Oaklawn’s leading owner in 2014-2017, learned to appreciate horses growing up on an Oklahoma farm. After graduating from Northeastern State University, he spent 13 years coaching high school football, basketball and girls softball. During those years, he also dabbled in Quarter-Horse ownership and claiming after attending the races at Blue Ribbon Downs in Sallisaw.
  • Eventually, his brother approached him with an opportunity to go into the natural stone business. This business venture afforded him the chance to get serious about the horse business. After starting out small by claiming a few horses at Churchill Downs in 2007, the operation became a full-time operation more than five years ago when he hired Federico Villafranco as his private trainer.
  • Caldwell has also earned top honors as leading owner at Remington Park a record nine times and was leading owner at Prairie Meadows the last four years.
  • Recorded his 700th career Thoroughbred victory Nov. 29, 2017, at Remington Park. Through Dec. 7, Caldwell had already set yearly career highs for starts (526), victories (130) and purse earnings ($2,953,864).
  • Known for being a hands-on owner and having a keen eye for the claiming game, some of his favorite horses are Herecomesthemannow, who won the Oklahoma Classics Sprint Stakes after being claimed for $7,500; and Fifth Date, who was claimed for $18,000 and went on to win the Oklahoma Classics Cup Stakes.